We Live and Breathe

Innovation

Innovation is an integral part of our work and strategy. And it’s reflected in more than just the solutions we offer. Innovation is at the core of our research and development competencies, and at the heart of our global network of Open Innovation. It’s also innovation that inspires us to take on some of the most pressing global challenges of our time.

Leaps by Bayer

Skateboarder on Water

Leaps by Bayer is spearheading a movement to make paradigm-shifting advances in the Life Sciences – targeting the breakthroughs that could fundamentally change the world for the better. Across health care and agriculture, Leaps by Bayer is aiming to conquer ten huge challenges facing humanity.

The scale of this mission requires an entirely new approach that goes beyond the conventional limits of the health care and agriculture industries. It requires enormous investment, risk and collaboration. As such, we are investing heavily in a few key areas, collaborating with the world’s smartest minds in biotech, and are actively helping to build up young biotech companies.

Bayer AG and Versant Ventures announced the launch of BlueRock Therapeutics, a next-generation regenerative medicine company developing best-in-class induced pluripotent stem cell (iPSC) therapies with the objective of treating a range of diseases using an industry-leading platform. Bayer and Versant jointly committed $225 million US, representing one of the largest-ever series A financings for a biotech company.

In Canada, BlueRock is focused on regenerating heart muscle for patients who have had a heart attack (myocardial infarction or MI) or suffering from chronic heart failure.

Open Innovation Programs

People around computer screens at a tech conference

Bayer’s Open Innovation approach includes a number of successful crowdsourcing and co-working initiatives. Together with bright minds outside of Bayer, we join forces to develop new therapeutic options for the benefit of patients and generate ideas in new crop protection.

Grants4Targets was introduced in 2009 and marks the first crowdsourcing program at Bayer. Further initiatives of this kind have been established since then.

In the context of Open Innovation, Bayer offers grants for scientists from universities, academic research institutes and start-up companies, or to health-IT developers to support specific projects. The participants are supported through funding and they can benefit, depending on the program, from work accommodations and the expertise of Bayer researchers in life sciences.

The following are Open Innovation initiatives that include a Canadian program or have had a Canadian submission.

Grants for Apps

Grants4Apps Toronto is an Open Innovation program that fosters and supports digital health technology in Canada. In 2017, Bayer announced the three winners for the Grants4Apps program, each of whom received $10,000 in funding as well as office space for 88 days at Bayer Canada’s headquarters where representatives from senior management offered them top-level mentoring to develop their innovations. The three finalists were:

  • Avro Life Science, which is developing a preclinical-stage, over-the-counter, medicated skin patch designed to deliver seasonal allergy medicine.
  • Mozzaz Patient Engagement For Complex Care, which is developing an app that collects quantitative and qualitative data in active and passive sources for data correlation and predictive analytics.
  • Helpwear Technologies Inc., which is developing a wrist-based device that uses proprietary ECG technology to detect minor and major heart events, automating emergency response and allowing doctors to monitor patients at home. It is currently being investigated in clinical trials.
Grants for Targets

Grants4Targets are crowdsourcing programs run by the Pharmaceuticals and Crop Science divisions of Bayer. The global Pharmaceuticals research grant program supports research on novel drug targets for applications in Bayer’s focus areas – oncology, gynecology, cardiology (including kidney diseases) and hemophilia – through funding and through expertise and technologies in drug discovery.

The aim of Grants4Targets Crop Science is to assist young researchers developing ideas for new crop protection. Researchers who have been awarded grants through the program have lauded the quick access to funding, opportunities to engage in joint research with Bayer, and the availability of searching and validation tools.

Grants for Traits

Agriculture needs new solutions as crops worldwide are facing increasing pressure from weeds, insects, diseases and unfavourable climate conditions.

With its Open Innovation program, Grants4Traits, Bayer now supports novel ideas that will lead to innovative commercial-seed products. Researchers at universities, other scientific institutions or start-up companies all over the world working on traits that will help achieve higher yield, quality and safety in crops are encouraged to participate in Bayer’s new program.

Grants for Indication

The Grants4Indications crowdsourcing initiative is a web-based platform to submit ideas on a specific non-clinical or clinical research project to evaluate a Bayer compound and potentially discover a new therapy for patients. If successful in the first stage, the applicant will be invited to send a full study proposal on the intended research and will receive a grant for this purpose. If successful in the next stage, the applicant can receive further funding to conduct the study under an Investigator-Initiated Research (IIR) agreement.

Partner Your Antibodies

With the web-based PartnerYourAntibodies crowdsourcing initiative, the Pharmaceuticals division is looking for novel antibodies relating particularly to the fields of oncology, cardiology (including kidney diseases), hematology, ophthalmology, as well as gynecology, and addressing a specific target or pathway in a selective manner (functional activity). Successful online applications will be assessed by Bayer with regard to bioactivity. If confirmed, Bayer may initiate a joint antibody-exploration project with the applicant, in which substantial financial funding is paid to compensate for research expenses.

Bayer on Campus

Bayer on Campus (BoC) is an initiative that aims to increase awareness of the breadth of Bayer’s innovation. It also serves to identify and foster opportunities for research collaborations with scientific and community stakeholders, and presents Bayer as a preferred choice for prospective employees by emphasizing the unique workplace culture and career opportunities.

Bayer representatives visit campuses across Canada to give presentations about Bayer and to host one-on-one meetings with researchers. In the program’s first year, Bayer Canada led the pilot phase for the campus tours, with visits to University of Manitoba, McGill University, Queens University, Olds College and the University of Calgary. Overall, a total of nine presentations were delivered to five campuses.

With very positive feedback from campus hosts, audience members and BoC participants, the initiative continues with more school visits planned.

Nous vivons

pour l’innovation

L’innovation fait partie intégrante de notre travail et de notre stratégie. Cela se reflète dans tout ce que nous entreprenons, et pas seulement dans les solutions que nous proposons. L’innovation est au centre de nos compétences en recherche et développement et au cœur de notre réseau mondial d’innovation ouverte. Elle nous inspire et nous incite à relever certains des défis mondiaux les plus urgents de notre temps.

Avancées de Bayer

Planchiste sur l’eau

Avancées de Bayer est un mouvement axé sur la réalisation d’avancées qui changent le paradigme dans le domaine des sciences de la vie, ciblant les découvertes qui pourraient fondamentalement changer le monde. Dans les domaines des soins de santé et de l’agriculture, Avancées de Bayer vise à relever dix immenses défis auxquels l’humanité doit faire face.

L’ampleur de cette mission nécessite une toute nouvelle approche qui va au-delà des limites classiques des domaines des soins de santé et de l’agriculture. Elle exige un investissement, une prise de risques et une collaboration considérables. Ainsi, nous investissons massivement dans certains domaines clés en collaborant avec les cerveaux les plus brillants au monde dans le domaine de la biotechnologie, en plus de contribuer activement à la création de jeunes entreprises de biotechnologie.

Bayer AG et Versant Ventures ont annoncé le lancement de BlueRock Therapeutics, une entreprise de pointe en médecine régénérative mettant au point les meilleurs traitements fondés sur les cellules souches pluripotentes induites dans l’objectif de traiter une variété de maladies au moyen d’une plateforme de premier plan dans l’industrie. Bayer et Versant se sont engagées à verser un montant de 225 millions de dollars américains, ce qui représente l’un des plus importants financements de série A pour une entreprise de biotechnologie.

Au Canada, BlueRock se concentre sur la régénération du muscle cardiaque chez les patients qui ont subi une crise cardiaque (infarctus du myocarde ou IM) ou qui sont atteints d’insuffisance cardiaque chronique.

Programmes d’innovation ouverte :

Personnes autour d’écrans d’ordinateur lors d’une conférence technologique

L’approche d’innovation ouverte de Bayer comprend un certain nombre d’initiatives fructueuses en matière de science participative et de collaboration. Nous unissons nos forces à celles d’esprits brillants à l’extérieur de Bayer pour élaborer de nouvelles options thérapeutiques pour le bienfait des patients et lancer de nouvelles idées pour protéger les cultures.

Le programme Grants4Targets a été lancé en 2009. Il constitue le premier programme de science participative chez Bayer. D’autres initiatives de ce type ont été lancées depuis.

Dans le contexte de l’innovation ouverte, Bayer offre des subventions aux scientifiques provenant d’universités, d’instituts de recherche universitaires et d’entreprises en démarrage ainsi qu’aux développeurs de solutions informatiques dans le domaine de la santé afin d’appuyer la réalisation de projets particuliers. Les participants reçoivent un financement et peuvent profiter – selon le programme – de mesures d’accommodement du travail et de l’expertise de chercheurs de Bayer en sciences de la vie.

Ci-dessous figurent des initiatives d’innovation ouverte qui comprennent un programme canadien ou auxquelles le Canada a participé.

Grants for Apps

L’initiative Grants4Apps Toronto est un programme d’innovation ouverte qui favorise et appuie les technologies de santé numériques au Canada. En 2017, Bayer a annoncé les trois lauréats du programme Grants4Apps, dont chacun a reçu 10 000 $ de financement ainsi qu’un espace de bureau pendant 88 jours au siège social de Bayer Canada, où des représentants de la haute direction leur ont offert un mentorat de haut niveau pour les aider à développer leurs innovations. Les trois finalistes étaient :

  • Avro Life Science, qui met au point un timbre transdermique contenant un médicament contre les allergies saisonnières et destiné à être offert en vente libre (le produit est au stade de développement préclinique).
  • Initiative d’engagement des patients dans les soins complexes de Mozzaz, une application qui permet de recueillir des données quantitatives et qualitatives provenant de sources actives et passives à des fins de corrélation et d’analyses prédictives.
  • Helpwear Technologies Inc., qui met au point un dispositif porté au poignet doté d’une technologie électrocardiographique exclusive permettant de détecter les événements cardiaques mineurs et majeurs, d’automatiser les interventions d’urgence et, pour les médecins, d’effectuer la surveillance des patients à domicile. Ce dispositif fait actuellement l’objet d’études cliniques.
Grants for Targets

Le programme Grants4Targets est un programme de science participative dirigé par les divisions Produits pharmaceutiques et Crop Science de Bayer. Le programme mondial de subvention de recherche de la division Produits pharmaceutiques soutient la recherche sur de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques pour des applications dans les domaines d’intérêt de Bayer (oncologie, gynécologie, cardiologie [y compris maladies rénales] et hémophilie), grâce à un financement ainsi qu’à une expertise et à des technologies axées sur la découverte de nouveaux médicaments.

L’objectif du programme Grants4Targets de Crop Science est d’aider de jeunes chercheurs à lancer des idées de nouveaux produits de protection des cultures. Les chercheurs qui ont reçu des subventions dans le cadre du programme ont salué l’accès rapide au financement, la possibilité de participer à des recherches communes avec Bayer et l’accès à des outils de recherche et de validation.

Grants for Traits

L’agriculture a besoin de nouvelles solutions en raison des problèmes croissants qui pèsent sur les cultures du monde entier : mauvaises herbes, insectes, maladies et conditions climatiques défavorables.

Grâce à son programme d’innovation ouverte, Grants4Traits, Bayer soutient désormais de nouvelles idées qui donneront naissance à des produits commerciaux d’avant-garde en matière de semences. Les chercheurs évoluant dans des universités, des instituts scientifiques et des entreprises en démarrage du monde entier et travaillant sur des caractères qui permettront d’obtenir un rendement, une qualité et une salubrité accrus des cultures sont encouragés à participer au nouveau programme de Bayer.

Grants for Indication

L’initiative de science participative Grants4Indications est une plateforme Web permettant de soumettre des idées sur un projet de recherche clinique ou non clinique donné pour évaluer un composé de Bayer et éventuellement découvrir un nouveau traitement pour les patients. Si le candidat franchit la première étape, il sera invité à envoyer une proposition d’étude complète sur la recherche prévue et recevra une subvention à cette fin. Si le candidat réussit la deuxième étape, il pourra bénéficier d’un autre financement pour réaliser l’étude en vertu d’un accord relatif aux études proposées par des investigateurs.

Partner Your Antibodies

Avec l’initiative Web de science participative PartnerYourAntibodies , la division Produits pharmaceutiques recherche de nouveaux anticorps, en particulier en lien avec les domaines de l’oncologie, de la cardiologie (y compris des maladies rénales), de l’hématologie, de l’ophtalmologie et de la gynécologie, qui visent sélectivement une cible ou une voie donnée (activité fonctionnelle). Les candidatures en ligne retenues seront évaluées par Bayer en ce qui a trait à la bioactivité. Si la bioactivité est confirmée, Bayer pourrait lancer un projet commun d’exploration des anticorps avec le candidat, offrant un financement important pour compenser les dépenses liées aux recherches.

Bayer on Campus

Bayer on Campus (BoC) est une initiative visant à faire connaître l’ampleur de l’innovation de Bayer. Elle contribue également à découvrir et à favoriser des possibilités de collaborations de recherche avec des intervenants des milieux scientifique et communautaire et présente Bayer comme une entreprise de choix pour les employés potentiels en soulignant la culture de travail unique et les perspectives de carrière.

Des représentants de Bayer se rendent sur les campus de tout le Canada pour y présenter l’entreprise et organiser des rencontres individuelles avec les chercheurs. Au cours de la première année du programme, Bayer Canada a dirigé la phase pilote des visites de campus avec des visites à l’Université du Manitoba, l’Université McGill, l’Université Queens, l’Olds College et l’Université de Calgary. En tout, neuf présentations ont été effectuées sur cinq campus.

Forte de commentaires très positifs de la part des campus hôtes, de l’auditoire et des participants à BoC, l’initiative se poursuit avec d’autres visites d’établissements prévues.