Safety of Pesticides

Are foods sprayed with pesticides safe to eat?

Canada’s strict regulatory system ensures the pesticides that protect crops from diseases, insects and weeds are safe and help our farmers produce healthy food in a sustainable manner.

Why are pesticides used?

Pesticides are used in Canada to help protect the fruits, vegetables and grains we eat from pests such as insects, weeds and fungal diseases. Fungicides ward off diseases that could otherwise cause plants to rot, insecticides protect against damaging insects, while herbicides defend against aggressive weeds that compete with crops for space, water, nutrients and sunlight.

Pesticides help our growers produce more food and reduce food waste. In fact, by using pesticides, Canadian growers are able to produce 83 per cent more vegetables like carrots, peppers and potatoes and 72 per cent more fruit.

Farmer and Counsel in a Soy Bean Field

Are pesticides safe?

In Canada we have a strict regulatory system that ensures our food is safe and our environment protected no matter what technologies or practices are used to grow crops.

Yes, pesticides are safe when used according to label instructions. Before approving a pesticide, Health Canada must reveiew the scientific information to make sure that it has value and there are no health or environmental concerns related to it’s use when used accoding to lable directions. As part of its assessment, health Canada takes into consideration the effects of a single, multiple and/or lifetime exposure to a pesticide.

Only then is a crop protection product granted regulatory approval, which can then be commercilaized into the market. Pesticides must also continue to meet Health Canada’s rigorous standards and are evaluated every 15 years, or when new information indicates that further investigation is required.

The Government of Canada also oversees the use of pesticides to ensure they’re applied properly and that growers are adhering to safe residue limits. Residue limits are monitored and enforced by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) for both domestic and imported foods.

In Canada, pesticides are regulated by Health Canada under the Pest Control Products Act (PCPA) and its Regulations.

Canadians benefit from plant science technologies everyday.

Innocuité des pesticides

Les aliments arrosés de pesticides peuvent-ils être consommés en toute sécurité?

Le système de réglementation stricte du Canada fait en sorte que les pesticides utilisés pour protéger les cultures des maladies, des insectes et des mauvaises herbes sont sûrs et aident nos agriculteurs à produire des aliments sains de manière durable.

Pourquoi utilise-t-on des pesticides?

Les pesticides sont utilisés au Canada pour protéger les fruits, les légumes et les grains que nous consommons des parasites, comme les insectes, des mauvaises herbes et des maladies fongiques. Les fongicides éloignent les maladies qui, autrement, feraient pourrir les plantes, les insecticides protègent contre les insectes nuisibles, tandis que les herbicides luttent contre les mauvaises herbes agressives qui font concurrence aux cultures pour l’espace, l’eau, les nutriments et la lumière du soleil.

Les pesticides aident nos agriculteurs à produire plus d’aliments et à réduire le gaspillage. De fait, en utilisant des pesticides, les agriculteurs canadiens peuvent produire 83 % plus de légumes, comme les carottes, les poivrons et les pommes de terre, et 72 % plus de fruits.

Fermier et conseiller dans un champ de soya

Au Canada, les pesticides sont réglementés par Santé Canada en vertu de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires et ses règlements.

Les pesticides sont-ils sûrs?

Au Canada, nous avons un système de réglementation strict visant à assurer l’innocuité de nos aliments et la protection de notre environnement, et ce, peu importe les technologies ou les pratiques utilisées pour produire une culture.

Oui, les pesticides sont sûrs lorsqu’ils sont utilisés conformément au mode d’emploi. Avant d’homologuer un pesticide, Santé Canada doit évaluer les données scientifiques pour s’assurer que le produit a une valeur ajoutée et qu’il ne pose pas de problèmes pour la santé ou l’environnement lorsqu’il est utilisé conformément au mode d’emploi. Dans le cadre de son évaluation, Santé Canada tient compte des effets d’une exposition unique, multiple et(ou) à vie à un pesticide.

Un produit phytosanitaire ne peut être homologué, puis commercialisé que s’il remplit ces critères. Les pesticides doivent toujours respecter les normes rigoureuses de Santé Canada. Pour cette raison, ils sont évalués tous les 15 ans ou lorsque de nouveaux renseignements indiquent que d’autres évaluations s’imposent.

Le gouvernement du Canada encadre également l’utilisation de pesticides pour s’assurer qu’ils sont appliqués correctement et que les agriculteurs respectent les limites de sécurité pour les résidus. Ces limites sont surveillées et appliquées par l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments pour les aliments domestiques et importés.

Les Canadiens bénéficient des technologies de la phytologie tous les jours.